Dogs Are Not Our Whole Life | {But They Make Our Lives Whole}

Title quote by Roger Caras

 

 

 

A tale of two doggies

_MG_4792_MG_4782_MG_4787

 

I don’t think I’ve gone a single day in my life without having a dog right beside me. My first dog, Bubba, was my best friend. He was only a few months younger than I was, so from birth we were inseparable! From playing outside to going fishing, we did everything together. So it was no question when J and I started dating that we were going to have a dog. That’s when Scrappy Doo came into our lives.

Let me start off by telling you her breed; she’s a chiweenie. What on Earth is a chiweenie you ask? It’s a “hybrid breed” of dog that is a mix of Chihuahua and Dachshund. When we first met Scrappy, she was a wee 7 months old. All ears, no lie. She was actually owned by my neighbor, who wasn’t supposed to have her due to my apartment owner’s rules. He tried to get rid of her, but no one was interested. He even tried to dump her on the side of the road, but just couldn’t bring himself to do so. Terrible situation, I know. But J and I knew we wanted the little furball, so we took her in. Now here we are, 7 years later and she’s still my little baby. We knew we wanted to get her a playmate after we were stationed here in California, so we went on a hunt. I’m not one for buying a dog, so we were searching at local shelters. That’s when we found Honey.

 

_MG_4807_MG_4806_MG_4801

 

Honey is the sweetest old Basset Hound you could ever meet! I always joke around about how she makes a terrible guard dog and would probably just lick someone to death. When we adopted Honey, she was 7 years old. She’s now 9. But you could never tell by the way she plays! She’s so full of energy and excitement! And she LOVES the fact that we have a toddler in the house. That’s because said toddler sneaks her snacks, throws her ball for her, and makes she she gets all her necessary pets throughout the day. We know very little about Honey’s past, but we believe she may have been mistreated. We’re just glad we could give her a loving home and family that she can spend the rest of her days with.

 

 

Do you have a family pet that you rescued? Thinking about getting a pet of your own? Rescue dogs might not be that cute, spry little puppy you think you’re looking for, but they make amazing family pets! Puppies and kittens are only puppies and kittens for a short time. Don’t get them only to lose interest when they lose their little-ness. I’ve seen too many cases where people BUY a puppy (for their toddler, mind you) only to chain the dog up outside all day everyday when it got older. Also keep in mind the type of dog (if you’re looking for a dog) that would best suit your/your family’s lifestyle before fully committing to one. Large breed dogs don’t do well in small apartments just as much as hyper/easily excitable dogs may not be very good for a family with small children. (Where personalities can vary breed by breed, they also vary dog by dog. Just something else to keep in mind.)

 

I was very happy to share my wonderful fur babies with you!

 

Until next time,

Karen

Leave a comment